CITY OF YORK COUNCIL

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held in Guildhall, York on Thursday, 22nd May, 2008, starting at 11.00 am

Present: The Lord Mayor, Councillor Irene Waudby, in the Chair during the first part of the meeting, the Lord Mayor, Councillor Brian Watson in the Chair during the second part of the meeting, and the following Councillors:

ACOMB WARD	BISHOPTHORPE WARD
Horton Simpson-Laing	Galvin
CLIFTON WARD	DERWENT WARD
Douglas King Scott	Brooks
DRINGHOUSES & WOODTHORPE WARD	FISHERGATE WARD
Holvey Reid Sunderland	D'Agorne Taylor
FULFORD WARD	GUILDHALL WARD
Aspden	Looker B Watson
HAXBY & WIGGINTON WARD	HESLINGTON WARD
Firth Hogg R Watson	Jamieson-Ball
HEWORTH WARD	HEWORTH WITHOUT WARD
Blanchard Funnell Potter	Ayre
HOLGATE WARD	HULL ROAD WARD
Alexander Bowgett Crisp	Cregan Pierce

HUNTINGTON & NEW EARSWICK WARD	MICKLEGATE WARD
Hyman Orrell Runciman	Fraser Gunnell Merrett
OSBALDWICK WARD	RURAL WEST YORK WARD
Morley	Gillies Healey Hudson
SKELTON, RAWCLIFFE & CLIFTON WITHOUT WARD	STRENSALL WARD
Moore Watt I Waudby	Kirk
WESTFIELD WARD	WHELDRAKE WARD
Steve Galloway Sue Galloway Waller	Vassie

Also in attendance: Honorary Aldermen J. Archer, B. Bell, Mrs. M. Bwye, C. Hall, C. Waite and K. Wood

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Wiseman

[Councillor Irene Waudby in the Chair]

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

1. Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any personal or prejudicial interests they might have in the business on the agenda.

No interests were declared.

APPOINTMENT OF LORD MAYOR

2. Councillor Looker moved, Councillor Jamieson-Ball seconded and the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Councillor Brian Watson of 97 Beckfield

Lane, Acomb be elected Lord Mayor of the City

of York for the ensuing municipal year.

QUALIFICATION OF LORD MAYOR

3. Councillor Brian Watson signified Acceptance of the Office of Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the Declaration of such acceptance and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

4. Councillor Cregan moved, Councillor Hyman seconded and the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Honorary Alderman David Wilde of 30

Badger Wood Walk, Badger Hill be appointed Sheriff of the City of York for the ensuing

municipal year.

QUALIFICATION OF SHERIFF

5. Honorary Alderman David Wilde made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

6. The Lord Mayor moved, Councillor Richard Moore seconded and the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Councillor Irene Waudby of 43 St Mark's

Grove, Rawcliffe be appointed Deputy Lord

Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

QUALIFICATION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

7. Councillor Irene Waudby made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor for the City of York and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law.

LORD MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

8. The Lord Mayor advised Council that he had appointed Lynn Comer to serve as his Chaplain during his year of office.

SHERIFF'S CHAPLAIN AND UNDER-SHERIFF

9. The Sheriff advised Council that he had appointed The Very Reverend Canon Michael Ryan as his Chaplain and Mr Graham Kay as his Under-Sheriff during his year of office.

VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND LORD MAYOR'S CONSORT

10. Councillor Waller moved, Councillor Gillies seconded and Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That the Council express its sincere thanks to

the outgoing Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort for their services to the City during the

past municipal year.

VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING SHERIFF AND SHERIFF'S LADY

11. Councillor Reid moved, Councillor Taylor seconded and Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That the Council express its sincere thanks to

the outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady for their services to the City during the past municipal

year.

FORMAL BUSINESS OF COUNCIL - ALLOCATION TO SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS TO THE EXECUTIVE, COMMITTEES AND OTHER BODIES 2008/2009

12. Cllr Steve Galloway moved, and Cllr Scott seconded, the appointment of an Executive, Leader and Executive Members, together with the allocation of, and nomination to, places on Committees, partnerships and outside bodies, as set out in Annexes B and C to Item 5 on the Council agenda.*

The Lord Mayor then announced that two options had been received for nominations to the Executive and Shadow Executive in addition to those nominations received for Committees, partnerships and outside bodies, as set out in Annex A to Item 5 on the Council agenda*. A vote was taken on each of those options, as follows:

Option A – a Liberal Democrat Executive and a Labour Shadow Executive. 25 Members voted in favour of this option, 20 voted against and 1 abstained.

Option B – a Labour Executive and a Liberal Democrat Shadow Executive. 20 Members voted in favour of this option and 26 voted against.

Option A was therefore declared carried by 25 votes to 20 and it was

RESOLVED: That allocation of seats to places for 2008/9 and those nominations to the Executive, Leader, Shadow Executive and remaining Committees, outside bodies etc be approved as set out under Option A above.

*Note: Annexes A, B and C to item 5 on the Council agenda can be found by clicking on the link below:

http://democracy.york.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.asp?Cld=331&Mld=3072&Ver=4

Councillor B Watson LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.20 pm]